Latest News, Meeting

Organization Working Group

As the first step to develop One Health Laboratory Network, INDOHUN organized a working group meeting as the beginning of discussion to establish the One Health Laboratory Network (OHLN). The meeting held on January 26, 2017 at the Health Sciences Cluster Building University of Indonesia, Depok was attended by 9 experts both from universities and research institutions. On this meeting, networking participation became one of the main discussions in regards to the absence of laboratory network references which covered One Health discipline which were relevant to the current situation in Indonesia. Therefore,the inclusion criteria need to be identified to become the member of OHLN.

OHLN organization and management meeting

Based on the agreement of many experts, to become the member of OHLN, one should fulfill at least five criteria below :

  1. Meets the Biosafety Level 2 (BSL-2) criteria in reference to the Centre for Disease Control and Prevention (U.S CDC) provisions;
  2. Has collaboration record with other laboratories, either inside or outside the faculty and/or university.;
  3. Employs human resources which are skilled in the area;
  4. Possess high investigation capacity; and
  5. Has appropriate laboratory facilities (building and instruments.

This meeting was followed with the initial/desktop assessment and assessment visit to the laboratory member candidate of OHLN. Based on the analysis, there were 12 laboratories in microbiology and parasitology discipline, from 9 faculties in 7 universities in Indonesia, which met the minimum criteria to become the member of OHLN on the first year.

In order to develop collaboration framework with the network members, INDOHUN conducted another meeting with the collaboration representatives of 7 university members including Universitas Indonesia, Bogor Institute of Agriculture, Padjajaran University, GadjahMada University, Airlangga University, Hasanuddin University, and Sam Ratulangi University, as well as the representative from 9 faculties from the abovementioned universities. The meeting which was held on July 25, 2017 in Yogyakarta, agreed to establish memorandum of understanding (MoU) at the university level and partnership agreement at the faculty level.

About the author

Related Posts